Priorities

I shouldn’t be here. I should be writing
the Next Great American Novel, or
living it. I should be exploring
the world by sail, finding myself
and romance, or at least taking a chance
to find something worth seeing, or
writing about. I shouldn’t let my
sentences run away from me like that.
I shouldn’t wander, but stick
to some determined path.
The Next Great American Novel needs
discovery, or coming-of-age, or
love, or the hero’s journey. Maybe
an inverted hero’s journey, like he
begins in victory and finds despair
or a fall from grace, like he sees
the dark side of the righteous path,
like, despite his hero status,
is a she.

PAD Challenge 23: I shouldn’t be here

Leave a Reply

