Diamond Eyes

A bowl of dried kibble-crumbs for me to complain,
The cold outside a quilted cocoon,
A world denied by your sleeping hands.
 
Who do you think you are? I will not be forgotten,
don’t push me away you rolling beast of stillness,
it’s time for me now, it’s my time, I hunger.
 
In silence before the awakening I’ve waited;
waited for the bell to stir you;
waited for that moment to call a
challenge and pounce at the narrowest
slit from sleep-crusted eyes.
 
Your lumbering form denies the dawn, but I will not be ignored.
Oh no, you will acknowledge my presence, my innate
superiority. You will feed me, you will free me.
Open the door.

1 comment
  1. redplace said:

    Such profound imagery. I really love this. I look forward to reading more of your work.

Leave a Reply

